Moore, six others to be inducted into Boise State Hall of Fame

Boise State will see seven new faces in the Boise State Hall of Fame this spring. (KBOI File Photo)

Boise State will see seven new faces in their hall of fame this spring.

Football player Kellen Moore and Broadcaster Paul J Schneider are just a few names among the group of athletes.

The 2018 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on campus April 13 at 6:30 p.m. Tickets for the event will be $100 and will go on sale today.

Bios on each of the members of the Class of 2018 can be found below:

Kellen Moore, Football

A four-time first-team All-American and the first Heisman Trophy Finalist in school history, Kellen Moore led Boise State to a record of 50-3 over his four-year starting career, concluding his time as a Bronco as the winningest quarterback in the history of college football. He became the first student-athlete in Boise State history – in any sport – to earn three conference athlete of the year awards, setting virtually every school passing record along the way. His 142 career touchdown passes and 14,667 yards passing each set school records, and ranked second and fifth in NCAA history, respectively. In 1,658 passing attempts, he threw just 28 interceptions, the NCAA record for lowest percentage of passes intercepted in a career. He earned All-America accolades from ESPN, Sports Illustrated and CBSSports in 2009, and from the Football Writers Association of America in 2010. He followed WAC Freshman of the Year honors in 2008 with back-to-back WAC Offensive Player of the Year Awards in 2009 and 2010, then concluded his career as the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year in 2011.

Paul J Schneider, Former Play-by-Play Broadcaster

The Voice of the Broncos for 35 years, Paul J Schneider was part of nearly every triumphant moment in Boise State Athletics history. This included the Broncos’ 2007 Fiesta Bowl victory, the 1980 NCAA Division I-AA National Championship, four NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament appearances and four NIT appearances.

Graham DeLaet, Men’s Golf

Prior to climbing into the top 40 of the Official World Golf Rankings, competing in the Olympics and playing on the Presidents Cup and World Cup Teams, Graham DeLaet was setting records at Boise State. He graduated with the top two single-season scoring averages (71.48 in 2003-04 and 71.54 in 2005-06), the three-highest win totals in a single season (four in 2003-04 and three each in 2002-03 and 2005-06), the career records for both top-10 finishes (26) and top-25 finishes (37) and the single-season records for both top-10 finishes (nine) and top-25 finishes (11). The WAC Player of the Year in 2006, he still holds the Broncos’ career wins record (10), and is the only three-time NCAA Regional Championships participant in school history (2003, 2004 and 2006).

Abigail Ferguson, Women’s Track & Field

Previously selected for the Hall of Fame, but to be inducted as part of this year’s class, Abigail Ferguson was a 10-time Big Sky Conference champion, including titles in the indoor long jump (1996); indoor triple jump (1994, 1995 & 1996); outdoor 4x100-meter relay (1997); outdoor long jump (1997); outdoor triple jump (1997); and outdoor triple jump (1994, 1995 & 1996). She was named Big Sky Conference Indoor Field Athlete of the Meet in 1994, and in 1997 earned All-America status by finishing eighth at the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field National Championships in the triple jump.

Eleni Kafourou, Women’s Track & Field

The 2009 NCAA Indoor Track & Field National Champion in the long jump, Eleni Kafourou concluded her Boise State career as a two-time All-American and 12-time conference champion. In addition to her national championship, she also earned All-America honors in the indoor triple jump in 2009. She earned both WAC Indoor Outstanding Field Performer (2008 and 2009) and WAC Outdoor Outstanding Field Performer (2006 and 2008) twice, and was the high-point performer at the WAC indoor meet in 2009 (28 points). She captured conference titles in the indoor long jump (2008 and 2009), indoor triple jump (2006, 2008 and 2009), outdoor long jump (2007, 2008 and 2009) and outdoor triple jump (2006, 2007, 2008 & 2010).

Nate Potter, Football

The only football player in school history to earn consensus All-America honors while also being named a first-team Academic All-American, Nate Potter started at tackle for four years before being selected in the National Football League Draft by the Arizona Cardinals. Potter, who was Boise State’s first football Academic All-American in more than 30 years, was also a second-team honoree following his junior season in 2010. Potter was a three-time first-team all-league selection, picking up a pair of such honors in the WAC before being one of only two unanimous selections in the Mountain West in 2011. His All-America accolades came from The Sporting News, the Football Writers Association of America, CBSSports and Yahoo Sports in 2011.

Gabe Wallin, Men’s Track & Field

The only two-time national champion in Boise State history, Gabe Wallin captured the javelin titles in both 2004 and 2005. When he captured his first title at the 2004 NCAA Outdoor National Championships, he became just the third track & field national champion in school history, and the first in more than a decade. Additionally, Wallin won javelin titles at the WAC Championships in both 2004 and 2005, and at the NCAA regional in 2005. Along with his national titles, he earned All-America honors each season.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off