Broncos snubbed by Athlon's All-MWC honors

(KBOI) - Athlon Sports released their Mountain West All-Conference Teams, and Boise State doesn't have the most first team players. BSU doesn't have the second-most players, or even the third.

In fact, there are four schools with more first-teamers than Boise State, and that includes first-year Mountain West member San Jose State have more player earning first team honors.

Demarcus Lawrence leads the pair of Broncos making that first team cut. The junior defensive end is joined by offensive lineman Charles Leno.

Five Broncos earn Athlon Sports All-Mountain West Conference second-team honors. The youngest is sophomore Jay Ajayi who should replace D.J. Harper as Boise State's starting running back this season.

Jeremy Ioane hopes to build on a stellar sophomore season where he started every game at free safety for the Broncos.

Boise State's senior tight end Gabe Linehan makes the third team.

Here's a complete list of Athlon's All-Mountain West Conference Teams:

First-Team Offense

QB Derek Carr, Fresno State
RB Kasey Carrier, New Mexico
RB Adam Muema, San Diego State
WR Davante Adams, Fresno State
WR Noel Grigsby, San Jose State
TE Marcel Jensen, Fresno State
C Tyler Larsen, Utah State
OG LaMar Bratton, New Mexico
OG Nicholas Kaspar, San Jose State
OT Charles Leno, Boise State
OT Austin Wentworth, Fresno State

First-Team Defense

DE Brock Hekking, Nevada
DE Demarcus Lawrence, Boise State
DT Tyeler Davison, Fresno State
DT Travis Raciti, San Jose State
LB Kyler Fackrell, Utah State
LB Jake Fely, San Diego State
LB Keith Smith, San Jose State
CB Sean Alston, Fresno State
CB Bene Benwikere, San Jose State
S Nat Berhe, San Diego State
S Derron Smith, Fresno State

First-Team Specialists

K Nolan Kohorst, UNLV
P Ben Skaer, New Mexico
KR Chase Clayton, New Mexico
PR Scott Harding, Hawaii

Second-Team Offense

QB David Fales, San Jose State
RB Jay Ajayi, Boise State
RB Tim Cornett, UNLV
WR Matt Miller, Boise State
WR Brandon Wimberly, Nevada
TE Crockett Gillmore, Colorado State
C Matt Paradis, Boise State
OG Dave Lefotu, Hawaii
OG Tyler Strong, Wyoming
OT Joel Bitonio, Nevada
OT Eric Schultz, Utah State

Second-Team Defense

DE Alex Hansen, Air Force
DE Andy Jennings, Fresno State
DT Sam Meredith, San Diego State
DT Ricky Tjong-A-Tjoe, Boise State
LB Shaq Barrett, Colorado State
LB Derek Largent, San Diego State
LB Art Laurel, Hawaii
CB Shaq Bell, Colorado State
CB Blair Burns, Wyoming
S Jeremy Ioane, Boise State
S Christian Spears, Air Force

Second-Team Specialists

K Austin Lopez, San Jose State
P Chase Tenpenney, Nevada
KR Colin Lockett, San Diego State
PR Blair Burns, Wyoming

Third-Team Offense

QB Chuckie Keeton, Utah State
RB Donnell Alexander, Colorado State
RB Jon Lee, Air Force
WR Devante Davis, UNLV
WR Robert Herron, Wyoming
TE Gabe Linehan, Boise State
C Weston Richburg, Colorado State
G Jamie Markosian, Utah State
G Cody Wichmann, Fresno State
T Brett Boyko, UNLV
T Bryce Quigley, San Diego State

Third-Team Defense

DE Lenny Jones, Nevada
DE Tavita Woodard, Hawaii
DT Patrick Mertens, Wyoming
DT Jack Reynoso, Nevada
LB Dallas Bollema, New Mexico
LB Jake Doughty, Utah State
LB Cory James, Colorado State
CB L.J. Jones, Fresno State
CB Nevin Lawson, Utah State
S John Hardy-Tuliau, Hawaii
S Trent Matthews, Colorado State

Third-Team Specialists

K Jared Roberts, Colorado State
P Harrison Waid, San Jose State
KR Tyler Ervin, San Jose State
PR Isaiah Burse, Fresno State